Skip to main content

American Nephrology Nurse's Association (ANNA) Dogwood Chapter 224

Award Winning Chapter of ANNA

Home Dogwood  Dogwood News   Upcoming Events  Dogwood Awards  Dogwood Photos  Driving Directions  Kidney Awareness Day  Volunteer Oportunities  Dogwood Extra  Member Login  Contact Us  Registration Form  Site Map   

Norma HeardOur heart pours out to the family and friends of the loss of our dearest member and Past Chapter President Norma Heard. Norma Heard passed away on Saturday, 9/20/14. She was a very special woman with special talents. She cheerished her one daughter.

She has worked in nephrology nursing over 35years before retiring. She also served as a legal nurse consultant in her spare time and in research. In 2010, she recieved the Excellence in NephrologyNursing Management Awards for her dedication and hardwork as manager of Grady Healthcare Acute Dialysis facility and other small dialysis centers and her mentorship and leadership to others.

She will be greatly missed


Our chapter will make special donation in her honor

Monetary gifts are welcomed to help  her daughter Nichelle with arrangements and also to help with her senior year in college.

Nichelle was Norma's proud and joy. 

Send to:
Nichelle Akins
2769 Valley View Drive
East Point, GA 30344

Become a Member at



checkout August 14 event on our facebook page


 45th Anniversary of ANNA  

in Anaheim,California


Back row: Lillian Pryor, Theresa Tapley, Elizabeth Weires, Loretta Jackson Brown, Rowena Elliott, Gail Wick, Front row: Erma Boykins, Joan Wokpara, & Angela Taylor-Smith attended the ANNA National Conference with other members of the Dogwood Chapter.  Loretta, Rowena, and Gail presented at the the Volunteer Leadership Training Workshop and or National Symposium. Lillian Pryor servered as on the Leadership Development for Nephrology Nurses Week. Please get involve. ANNA has specialty groups, tasks force committees, and more.  Every members need to redo their profile page and sign up for what you are interested in doing with ANNA. Chapter officers positions are up for running for 2015- Chapter Secretary and Chapter Health Policy Rep.






  Congratulating Angela Adams on successfully passing the Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality (CPHQ) examination and obtaining her certification and publication of her manuscript

 "Utilizing the Health Belief Model to AssessVaccine Acceptance of Patients on Hemodialysis".

Certification Review Course & Celebration of Nephrology Nurses Week


Special Thank you to our sponsors for the Certification Review Course and Celebration of Nephrology Nurses Week on Sept. 14.  Emory University Hospital-Midtown, Amgen, & our chapter. Thank you for the excellent speakers: Gail Wick, Loretta Jackson Brown, Dr. Ajay Srivastava, Ted Walton, Matt Arduino, Marleen Currier, Amgen, Juanita Connor,  & Marina Villano. Special Thanks to Rebecca McKee Waddle and EUH- Audio-Visual engineer and our Chapter Officers for also making this event a success.  The participants recieved 9.0 contact hours , ANNA Lunch Bag and Key chain- Wow.   We had 3 winners for the Dogwood giveaways. 



Health Policy Workshop 2013
 Elizabeth Weires , Chapter Health Policy Rep.  from Mercer University & Eilzabeth Wallace  Chapter member from St. Joseph Hospital attended the Health Policy Workshop in Washington D.C.
Vascular Access Monitoring & Management
Our Annual Collaborative Event with Atlanta Access Care
Courtyard By Marriott
130 Clairemont Avenue
Decatur, Georgia
5pm Registration- sign in
6pm- Refresments, meal and presentation
Free for those who do not need CEU's
3CEU'S Pending
$5.00 Members   and $10. 00 Non-Members
Additiona  $5.00 added for Door Registration for all
Online Registration
 Welcome to the Award Winning Dogwood Chapter
Our mission is to follow ANNA's Mission :
"... to promote excellence by advancing nephrology nursing practice and positively influence outcomes for individuals with kidney disease"
October 11-13, 2014  ANNA Fall Meeting in Savannah, GA 


October 21, 2014 Doubletree by Hilton Atlanta-Northlake
4156 Lavista, Tucker,GA 30084
Register your staff and patients for the Patient Empowerment Workshop
770 452-1539 ext. 20 or
November 6, 2014  ANNUAL EVENT COLLABORATION with Atlanta Access Care/ Fresenius Vascular Access at the Marriott Courtyard, Decatur GA
 Congratulations to  our award winners at the 2014 Nephrology Nurse Recognition Dinner in Anaheim, California
Loretta J. Brown
Marleen Currier
Rowena Elliott
Joan Wokpara
Lillian Pryor
Please start nominating someone for awards and scholarships, or apply for career mobility scholarship or research grant at
 Chapter Officers 2014- 2015
*Erma Boykins, RN,MSN,CNN...*
Immediate Past President
*Lillian Pryor,RN,MSN,CNN*
*Joan Wokpara,RN,BSN,CDN*
*Angela Taylor-Smith,RN,ASD,BSN,CNN
(Past President)
*Theresa Tapley,RN*
Health Policy Rep
*Elizabeth Weires,RN 
State Health Policy Rep
*Marleen Currier, RN,MSN,CNN
ANNA Dogwood***
Elizabeth Wallace, Rep. Rob Woodall, Angela Taylor-Smith & Elizabeth Weires